State Law Updates – July 2018
Last Updated on December 22, 2021 by G. T. HR
As part of our effort to keep you abreast of changes in state laws, we have outlined below certain law changes that were noted in July 2018 that might be of interest.
The list below is not a complete list of all state law changes. Therefore, we recommend you discuss any specific issues your company may be experience with your state labor department or a third party knowledgeable with your state’s employment laws.
|AR||7/31/2018||Under a new law in Arkansas, neither a franchisee nor a franchisee’s employee is deemed to be an employee of the franchisor or sub-franchisor (notwithstanding a voluntary agreement entered into between the US Department of Labor and Franchisee)|
|CA||7/11/2018||No Affirmative Duty to Resist Immigration Enforcement|
As a result of a recent federal district court ruling, California employers are no longer prohibited from:
|DE||1/1/2019||Delaware has adjusted its minimum wage increase to $8.75 per hour to take effect on January 1, 2019. Previously, this increase was scheduled to take effect on October 1, 2018. Effective October 1, 2019, Delaware’s minimum wage will rise to $9.25 per hour.|
|MA||7/2/2018||An Act relative to minimum wage, paid family medical leave and the sales tax holiday (HB4640). |
The law also phases in the elimination of Sunday and holiday premium pay for retail workers.
|MA||7/1/2018||Massachusetts has adopted a paid family and medical leave program, which will be funded by a payroll tax that becomes effective July 1, 2019. Employees can begin taking paid family and medical leave under the program in 2021.|
|MN||6/19/2018||Minimum Wage Increase in Minneapolis, MN: |
|OK||7/26/2018||Effective July 26, 2018, Oklahoma law will generally prohibit employers from discriminating against a medical marijuana patient in hiring, termination, or any term or condition of employment.|
The Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act
Effective July 1, Rhode Island employers generally must provide paid or unpaid earned sick leave to each employee, depending on employer size. The following chart summarizes the law and its requirements.
|SC||7/24/2018||Updated Poster Addresses Pregnancy Accommodations |
South Carolina has updated its employment discrimination poster to include required language regarding pregnancy accommodations. The updated poster (English and Spanish) must be given to existing employees by September 14, 2018, and all new hires on or after that date. The notice must also be conspicuously posted at an employer’s place of business.