Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
State Law Updates | Jul 09, 2018

State Law Updates – June 2018

State Law Updates – June 2018

As part of our effort to keep you abreast of changes in state laws, we have outlined below certain law changes that were noted in June 2018 that might be of interest. The list below is not a complete list of all state law changes. Therefore, we recommend you discuss any specific issues your company may be experiencing with your state labor department or a third party knowledgeable with your state’s employment laws.

State/City Effective Date Description
CA/Multi 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase in the following:

  • Los Angeles, CA: $13.25 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $12.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees
  • San Francisco, CA: $15.00 per hour
  • Belmont, CA: $12.50 per hour
  • Emeryville, CA: $15.00 per hour
  • Malibu, CA: $13.25 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $12.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees
  • Milpitas, CA: $13.50 per hour
  • Pasadena, CA: $13.25 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $12.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees
  • San Leandro, CA: $13.00 per hour
CT 1/1/2019 A new law generally prohibits Connecticut employers from inquiring about a prospective employee’s wage and salary history unless it is voluntarily disclosed.
DC 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase as follows: District of Columbia (DC): $13.25 per hour.
IL/Chicago/Cook County 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase in the following:

  • Chicago, IL: $12.00 per hour
  • Cook County, IL: $11.00 per hour
MD 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase: Maryland $10.10 per hour; Montgomery County, MD: $12.25 per hour for employers with 51 or more employees; $12.00 per hour for employers with 2-50 employees.
MA 10/13/2018 Massachusetts has limited certain inquiries into criminal history.
MN/Minneapolis 7/1/2108 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase: Minneapolis, MN: $11.25 per hour for employers with 100 or more employees; $10.25 per hour for employers with 100 or fewer employees
NH 7/29/2018 Under a new law, effective July 29, 2018, New Hampshire employers generally must pay wages within:  8 days after the expiration of the work week if the employee is paid weekly; or 15 days after the expiration of the work week if the employee is paid biwee
NM/Santa Fe 3/1/2018 The minimum wage rate for the City of Santa Fe, New Mexico has increased to $11.40 per hour. Additionally, the minimum wage rate for Santa Fe County has increased to $11.40 per hour ($3.41 per hour for tipped employees). These increased rates are currently in effect.
NY 4/1/2019 New York City has enacted new sexual harassment training, poster, and notice requirements for employers. Starting April 1, 2019, employers with 15 or more employees will be required to annually conduct anti-sexual harassment interactive training for all e
OR/Portland 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, the minimum wage will increase in the following: Oregon: $10.75 per hour ($12.00 per hour in the Portland metropolitan area; $10.50 per hour in nonurban counties)
RI 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, Rhode Island employers generally must provide paid or unpaid earned sick leave to each employee, depending on employer size. The following chart summarizes the law and its requirements.
SC 9/14/2018 South Carolina has enacted a new law that prohibits employers with 15 or more employees from discriminating against employees with medical needs arising from pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions. In particular, the law prohibits covered em
VT 7/1/2018 Effective July 1, 2018, a new law prohibits Vermont employers from inquiring about or seeking an applicant’s salary history information­­, including information on his or her current or past wages, salary, bonuses, or benefits.
VA 7/1/2018 Virginia has amended its mini-COBRA law to exclude covered employees terminated for gross misconduct. Additional details are presented below.
The HR and business professionals at MyHRConcierge are here to respond to your questions and concerns, and keep small to medium-sized businesses compliant with federal and state labor laws. Delivering personal service to our Partners and Clients is the heart and soul of our business.